Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Grants Management Division

State Crisis Intervention Program

​​​The Kentucky Justice and Public Safety Cabinet is the Commonwealth of Kentucky's state administering agency of the Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program (Byrne SCIP) authorized by the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act of 2022. Byrne SCIP provides formula funds to states to implement state crisis intervention court proceedings and related programs or initiatives. The Kentucky State Crisis Intervention Advisory Board formally adopted the following five (5) priority program areas: 

  1. ​Court programs and court-based diversion programs;
  2. Behavioral health initiatives and crisis response;
  3. Communitiy crisis intervention and co-responder programs and training;
  4. Suicide prevention intiatives (particularly those related to veterans and youth); and
  5. Gun safety initiatives, including education and/or public awareness campaigns and gun safety device distribution.

State Crisis Intervention Advisory Board

The State Crisis Intervention Advisory Board is comprised of representatives from law enforcement, prosecution, courts, victim services, behavioral health providers, legal counsel, and the community. The Advisory Board meets quarterly to inform and guide state crisis intervention programs and initiatives.

​SCIP Advisory Board Members​​​​​
​Kimberly Baird
​Commonwealth's Attorney, 22nd Judicial Circuit
​Angela Bisig
​Justice, Kentucky Supreme Court
​Nathan Goens

​Staff Attorney, Justice and Public Safety Cabinet,
Office of Legal Services
​Natalie Kelly
​Vice President, Seven Counties Services
​Brittney Thomas
​Survivor, Heath High School Shooting
​John Ward
​Sheriff, Hardin County
​Angela Yannelli
​CEO, ZeroV, Kentucky United Against Violence

​Funding Availability

Grant funding will be allocated in a manner consistent with the federal program pass-through requirements and priorities and initiatives established by the Advisory Board. JPSC expects to issue a competitive application in July 2024. 

Scheduled Meetings

All meetings shall take place at 10:00 A.M. ET at the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet, located at 125 Holmes Street, Frankfort, KY 40601.


October 25, 2023​ 

February 14, 2024  

May 8, 2024  

August 21​, 2024 (10:00 A.M. ET)

November 13, 2024 (10:00 A.M. ET)