Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Parole Board

Board Members

Ladeidra N. Jones, Chair
Ladeidra N. Jones began her career working at the Woodford County Detention Center. She later worked as a Probation and Parole Officer in District 9 (Lexington, KY). She also has years of clinical experience in the field of Substance Abuse working at Fayette County Drug Court and Kentucky Department of Corrections (SAP). Ms. Jones received a B.A. in Criminal Justice from Kentucky State University and an M.B.A. from Midway University. She received her initial temporary certification in alcohol and drug counseling in 2015. Deidra was appointed to the Parole Board on January 17, 2019.

Brenda Beers-Reineke, Parole Board Member
Brenda Beers-Reineke holds Bachelor of Elected Studies and Master of Business Administration degrees from Thomas More University and a Juris Doctor from Salmon P. Chase College of Law. After a long corporate career, she served most recently as an Assistant Commonwealth's Attorney, focusing on the HEART (Heroin Expedited Addiction Recovery Treatment) Program, in Kenton County. Brenda was appointed to the Board on January 17, 2019. 

Larry R. Brock, Parole Board Member
Larry R. Brock has worked in the criminal justice system his entire career, beginning as a Military Policeman in the U.S. Army. He further served with the Richmond Police Department before joining the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives as a criminal investigator and supervisor. Upon retiring from ATF after 23 years of service, he was appointed as the Chief of Police for the Richmond Police Department where he served for nine years. He is a graduate of Eastern Kentucky University with a B.S. in Police Administration and a minor in Journalism. Larry was appointed to the Parole Board on May 23, 2016. 

Bridget Skaggs Brown, Parole Board Member
Bridget Skaggs Brown retired from the Louisville Division of Police in 2002 after attaining the rank of Colonel and serving as Deputy Chief. Later, she served as Commissioner for the Department of Juvenile Justice. In 2007, she was appointed by the governor to serve as Chairperson for the Kentucky Parole Board. After retiring for several years, Brown returned to state government in 2019, briefly serving in the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet. In December 2019, she once again was appointed to serve on the Parole Board. Ms. Brown has a Bachelor of Science in Police Administration and a Master's of Science in Justice Administration, both from the University of Louisville. In addition, she is a graduate of the Southern Police Institute Administrative Officer's Course. Bridget was appointed to the Parole Board on December 3, 2019. 

Melissa Chandler, Parole Board Member
Melissa Chandler has spent her entire career working with the Kentucky Parole Board. Over a seventeen-year period, she held many positions including the top administrative manager for the Office of the Parole Board/Division of Parole and Victim Services. She has been instrumental in policy development, as well as the implementation of the risk and needs assessment used by the Board. Ms. Chandler holds a degree in Education from the University of Kentucky. She appointed to her first full term on the Board, having previously served an unexpired term, on January 17, 2019.

Sharon Hardesty, Parole Board Member
Sharon Hardesty most recently served on the Kentucky Parole Board from 2013-2017 and was again appointed in July 2020 after a brief retirement. Hardesty is a graduate of the University of Kentucky with degrees in Sociology (B.A., M.A.) and Law (J.D.). A lifelong Kentucky resident, Hardesty spend most of her career teaching Sociology at Eastern Kentucky University. She brings a wealth of experience to the board in the areas of criminal justice, community and rehabilitation. Sharon was appointed to the Parole Board on July 21, 2020.

Michael A. James, Parole Board Member
Michael A. James has spent his entire career in the criminal justice system. His experience includes nine years with the Texas Department of Corrections, two years in private corrections, and 23 years with the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office. Mr. James retired from the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office in 2017 with the rank of Major as a division commander. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Justice and Public Safety, and a certificate in Conflict Management from Sullivan University. He is also a graduate of the Southern Police Institute Administrative Officers Course and the FBI National Academy. Mr. James served three years on the Louisville Metro Police Merit Board. Michael was appointed to the Parole Board on June 17, 2021.

Sherri Lathan, Parole Board Member
Sherri Lathan began her career in corrections as a Correctional Officer at Luther Luckett Correctional Complex. She was promoted to Probation and Parole Officer and served for 14 years. Sherri has a Bachelor of Science in Correctional Administration and a Master of Arts in Special Education. Prior to retirement, she served as a Recruitment and Certification worker for the state's foster care system. Sherri holds a Highly Qualified Special Education Certification and previously served as an Exceptional Child Educator in the Fayette County Public System. She has also served as a Disability and Mental Health Specialist and Compliance Manager with Community Action Council. More recently, Sherri returned to her passion in Corrections by serving as the Reentry Mentor Coordinator for Lexington Rescue Mission. Sherri was appointed to the Parole Board on June 17, 2021.

Patty Wininger, Parole Board Member
Patty Wininger retired from Probation and Parole after a 21-year career with the Commonwealth of Kentucky. During the span of her career, the first ten years was conducting child abuse investigations as a Social Services Clinician. She then switched her focus to the criminal justice aspect of her career as a Probation and Parole Officer. During this time, she was a Field Training Officer, as well as the Lead Firearm Instructor for her district. She worked overtime hours as a Corrections Officer at Kentucky State Reformatory and Luther Luckett Correctional Facilities during the correctional employee shortage. She is a current member on the Board of Directors of the Northern Kentucky Community Action Center and a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars Auxiliary. She is a graduate of Northern Kentucky University, where she received a Bachelor of Social Work degree with a minor in Psychology. Patty was appointed to the Parole Board on January 17, 2019.